Do you trust me?

My children grew up watching Disney movies.  They were babes when the classics such as The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, The Lion King and Aladdin were released. We watched the movies so often I still know the words of most of the songs.

We had a game we would play when traveling.  One person would say a line from a movie and the others would have to guess the movie.  I would always start with “there’s a girl in the castle” said in my best French accent.  Can you guess which movie? 

If you think about it, there is always a line or two from a movie that stand out and make it easily identifiable.  I thought about one of those lines recently.  It was a line uttered by Aladdin/Prince Abu in the 1992 animated feature Aladdin.

At one point in the movie, Aladdin notices the princess Jasmine in trouble.  He reaches out his hand to her and says “do you trust me?”  She hesitantly takes his hand and he helps her escape from the angry market vendor who wants to chop off her hand for stealing an apple. 

A few scenes late, Aladdin, pretending to be a prince, again offers Jasmine his outstretched hand.  He again asks “do you trust me?”  She says yes and at this point he takes her on an amazing magic carpet ride, taking her beyond the safe but confining walls of the castle and showing her all of the wondrous sights of the world.magic-46325_1280I mean no disrespect or frivolity, but I think this is a picture of God and us.  He reaches out His hand to us and says “do you trust me?”

“Do you trust me to help you through the rough, scary times in your life”?

“Do you trust me to take you to places you’ve never imagined”?

“Do you trust me with your very life”?

We can choose to say yes, place our hand in God’s outstretched hand and join Him or we can choose to say no and miss out on the amazing plans He has for us.  It is our choice.  Just as Aladdin didn’t force Jasmine to go with him, God does not force us. 

But, oh, what would we miss if we didn’t?

I don’t know about you, but I’m ready to grasp that outstretched hand and never let go.

Here are a few verses that mention God’s mighty or righteous right hand from the book of Psalms:  Psalms 16:1, 17:7, 18:35, 45:4, 60:5, 63:8, 138:7, 139:10.

In case you were wondering, the answer is Beauty and The Beast emoticon-25530_640

2 thoughts on “Do you trust me?

Leave a Reply

