Old Time Religion

“Bringing in the sheaves, bringing in the sheaves, we shall come rejoicing, bringing in the sheaves”

I grew up attending a small Southern Baptist church in a medium-sized southern town.  I can still remember all of the old hymns we sang as well as the row of blue-haired saints who belted them out with strong voices belying their petite frames.  Make a joyful noise, indeed.

We would sing the old hymns, usually first, second and last verses, every Sunday morning, Sunday night and Wednesday night.  I had my favorites – Blessed Assurance,  Holy, Holy, Holy and It is Well to name a few.  I loved my Grandfather’s favorite hymn How Great Thou Art.  I still think of him every time I hear that old tune.

Most of the hymns were self-explanatory – What a Friend We Have in Jesus, Sweet Hour of Prayer, On a Hill Far Away.  The message made sense.

The one hymn that didn’t make sense to me was Bringing in the Sheaves.  I’m not a farm girl so I wasn’t quite sure what a sheave was and why it was so joyful to be bringing them in.  Nevertheless, I sang with appropriate joy and enthusiasm.

I am in the process of reading the Bible through – from cover to cover, Genesis to Revelation.  It is a wonderful exercise which I highly recommend.  It is different than reading for a particular Bible study or to follow along with the pastor or to find a passage to help in a particular instance.

When you read through the pages of the Bible, you can find unexpected gems like I found a few months ago in the book of Psalms – Psalms 126:6

He who goes out weeping, carrying seed for sowing, will certainly come again with joy, carrying his sheaves 

What are some of your favorite old hymns?  Click Here to see a list of the 25 most popular Christian hymns.  Is your favorite on the list?

6 thoughts on “Old Time Religion

  1. This blog is so timely…..after 30 years away from the piano, I have just started playing again. The old hymns are my favorite! Thanks for clarifying “the sheaves”,

    Like

Leave a Reply

